About the Niagara Falls History Museum
The Museum is housed within the old Stamford Township Hall, built in 1874. The Lundy's Lane Historical Society was given the building in 1971, when it became the Lundy's Lane Historical Museum. On January 1, 2010, the City of Niagara Falls took direct operation of the Museum, and it became the Niagara Falls History Museum.
Housing a vast collection of Niagara Falls history, the Museum showcases the unique past of this famous city. The Museum's $12 million renovation and expansion created a dynamic space to examine and explore our diverse history. The renovation and expansion were designed by Toronto architecture firm Moriyama and Teshima and feature three remarkable galleries that tell the most compelling Niagara Falls stories through engaging hands-on exhibitions.
The Museum is located within steps of the Drummond Hill Cemetery, the focal point of the Battle of Lundy's Lane, considered the "bloodiest battle" of the War of 1812. The starting point for any trip to this battlefield will be a visit to the Museum.
What you will see
Visitors to the Museum in the heart of Niagara Falls will experience history first-hand during their visit. While here, try on a replica uniform from the War of 1812, feel the heft of a musket, build a bridge to span the Niagara Gorge, or walk the tightrope like the daredevils of the past.