Battle Ground Hotel Museum


 

Location

6137-6151 Lundy’s Lane
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Phone 905-357-9866

Admission

Admission is by donation.

Hours of operation

Wednesday to Sunday 10:00 am to 5:00 pm

Closed for season August 30, 2026

About the Battle Ground Hotel Museum

The Battle Ground Hotel Museum is located on the hallowed grounds of the Lundy’s Lane Battlefield. The restored 1850s tavern displays furnished period rooms and artifacts from the War of 1812.

The building was bequeathed to the City of Niagara Falls by Ruth Redmond, a retired teacher at nearby Stamford Collegiate. In the face of modern development, Redmond purchased several properties on the Lundy’s Lane hilltop to protect and preserve their heritage for future generations. 

With all the history that surrounds this area where the Battle of Lundy’s Lane was fought, it is surprising that the grounds were almost lost. Today, the City of Niagara Falls maintains the building which is open to the public.

What you will see

Visitors to the site are given a presentation about village tavern life and early tourism’s fascination with the famed battlefield. The Battle Ground Hotel Museum is the only illustration of a 19th Century inn which exists as a product of the commemoration of the War of 1812, and also as an element of early Ontario tourism. A tower with an observation deck used to be on the property from where early tourists who came to visit the battlefield could have a better view of the area.

A guided tour at the Battleground Hotel Museum will transport you back to 1850’s tavern life in the quaint town of historic Drummondville. This small town thrived from its proximity to the falls and its location on one of the bloodiest battles fought on Canadian soil. The tavern remains as one of the earliest examples of Niagara Falls Tourism, as many tourists came to see the battlefield of Lundy’s Lane. Adam Fralick even built a wooden observation tower where people could pay a fee to see the entire battlefield. 

Visitors to the museum will have a chance to visit various restored rooms throughout the building.

Foyer

The foyer with the entrance facing Lundy’s Lane allows visitors to the museum a chance to see where the innkeeper would have received guests to the tavern. Also in the room are battlefield relics, regimental buttons, and more.

Lady's parlour

Visitors to the museum will have a chance to visit various restored rooms throughout the building, such as the Lady’s Parlour. This room was considered a safe haven for children and socially acceptable women to congregate. During this time period, the consumption of alcohol and tobacco was socially frowned upon for women, hence the attempt at a physical separation between the two sexes. A few things to note in this room are the feminine décor and the ornate tea set, which indicate social status and wealth.

 

Tap room

In the 1850’s, the Tap Room was the place to be where men could have a drink, listen to music and debate politics and economics. Compared with the Lady's Parlour, the furnishings are quite bland with the absence of wallpaper and smooth flooring. However, there are a few unique features like the bird cage bar that operates on a pulley system and the cast-iron stove with a network of flues to warm the house.

Kitchen and pantry

The kitchen looked like a typical kitchen from the 1830s to the 1840s. Typical tavern food was generally regarded as poor. Although alcohol consumption was the main activity, evidence suggests that dining also took place here. Main meals included beef, pork, rabbit, turkey, chicken and even passenger pigeons before their extinction in the early 20th century.

Visitors will also be able to see the pantry where food and dishware were stored. One of the distinctive features of this room would be the unique design on the walls similar to the “sponge painting” design that gained popularity during the 1980s.

Innkeeper's bedroom

In the heart of the house lies the innkeeper’s bedroom, which features typical furnishings of the time period, such as a rope bed and a cast-iron strongbox.

Parking and accessibility

Contact Us

City of Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Museums
5810 Ferry Street
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 1S9
Canada
905-358-5082
nfhmuseum@niagarafalls.ca

Sign up to our Newsletter

Stay up to date on the city's activities, events, programs and operations by subscribing to our eNewsletters.